Grief and Loss

No one can go through life without loss and grief. Grief is a God-given natural, healthy, self-corrective process.

You may be experiencing:

  • Numbness
  • Disbelief
  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Confussion
  • Depression
  • Guilt
  • Fear

Or all of the above at different times.


Physical Effects:

  • Fatigue
  • Shortness of breath
  • Dizziness
  • Palpitations
  • Frequent, ongoing feelings of numbness
  • Irritability
  • Restlessness
  • Headaches
  • Diarrhea
  • Appetite loss
  • Insomnia
  • Inability to organize daily activities


The Five Stages of Grief and What Helps

1. Denial and Isolation

At first we tend to deny the loss has taken place, and may withdraw from our usual social contact. This stage may last a few moments, or longer.

2. Anger

The grieving person may then furious at the person who inflicted the hurt (even if they are dead), or at the world, for letting it happen. He may be angry with himself for letting the event take place, even if, realistically, nothing could have stopped it.

3. Bargaining

Now the grieving person may make bargains with God, asking, “If I do this, will you take away the loss?”

4. Depressions

5. Acceptance

This is when the anger, sadness, and mourning have tapered off. The person simply accepts the reality of the loss.


It is healthier to express emotions rather than repress them.

  • Give yourself permission to grieve.
  • Crying – Tears are cleansing.
  • Talking (either one on one or in a support group)
  • Praying
  • Counseling